Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Bullet Overload?

Old 10-31-2006, 09:39 PM

Default Bullet Overload?

Long time lurker, love the forum. Not quite sure if this is the correct category to post this under. I have a Ruger 270 that I have been shooting for 16 years now. I bought a bunch of different boxes of ammunition to take to the range to practice with.When I shot the5th bullet on the Federal 150gr nosler partition something felt really weird to me. My rifle shot forward to the right and up in the air. I looked through the scope and no bullet hole on the target. I wasn't for sure what happened but quickly found out when I went to pull back the bolt. It had locked up on me.

I took the gun to the gunsmith and he had to hammer the bolt up and out because it was not moveable by hand. Then he had to stick a rod down the barrel to get the cartridge out. He completely checked out my gun and said everything looked great. He said that it was definitely the bullet and said that it was an overload. What do you guys think? Could have there been a more serious outcome? I bought these because everyone says on here that they are the best. The gun shot fine after this but my bolt is not closing correctly now.

Old 10-31-2006, 11:12 PM

Default RE: Bullet Overload?

I'm really interested as to what the guys on here say. It's got me stumped. (The part about what you "felt" the rifle do).

If you don't get any responses here, try the reloading section. There's a few guys that post in there who really know their stuff, but I'm pretty sure they check these sections also.
Old 11-01-2006, 12:10 AM

I don't believ I've ever seen a case quite like that before, I have seen some over max reloads go BOOM!!!, but they were not like that!!!!!
Old 11-01-2006, 12:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

Was it brrand new factory ammo or remanufactured ammo?

Old 11-01-2006, 01:20 AM