Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Gun Help--scope problem?? >

Gun Help--scope problem??

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Gun Help--scope problem??

Old 10-27-2006, 06:03 PM
Fork Horn

Default Gun Help--scope problem??

Hey there,
Been trying to sight in my new Remington 700 XCR in 300wsm. Problem is, I cannot get it to hold a good pattern, or any patternless than8 inches or so at 100 yards. I have a new Nikon 3x9 Buckmasters mounted on it. I have tried Federal Fusions in 165 and 180 grains (shot the worst) and Federal Premiums Accubonds in 180 grains (2 boxes), which shot better but still not to my liking. I thought initially it may be me, but my 30-06 and Knight muzzleloader I can get awesome groups/hits with both at 100 yards.

My question: Do you think it may be a scope problem? The scope is tightened all around. I would assume that a messed up scope would shoot worse(??)...but I don't know. I cannot think of anything else that it would be. Is there a way to determine if it's the scope?? Any ideas?? This thing is expensive to have roughly shot 80 shots through to no avail!
Old 10-27-2006, 06:15 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Gun Help--scope problem??