Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 How often to clean guns? >

How often to clean guns?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

How often to clean guns?

Old 09-25-2006, 12:15 PM
Spike

Default How often to clean guns?

Hey guys. I'm relatively new to guns having only owned them for a year or two. I've got a Remington 870
and a Yugo SKS. Pretty soon I'm going to be purchasing anther bolt action rifle for larger game hunting. I always take extremely good care of my guns but it seems that I am spending too much time cleaning them. I usually clean than after each day shooting or at the field. For the shotgun thats around 150 rounds and for my SKS only like 60. For both these weapons (all guns in general) how often should you clean them? The shotgun isn't bad to clean but the sks is a nightmare since it's gas operated. I did plan on also purchasing a semi auto shotty some time in the future but I'm going to have to say I'm almost steering away from owning another gas operated gun because they are so annoying to clean. Should you always clean guns after shooting them regarldess of how many rounds? Is it bad to store a dirty gun? Can you always OVER oil guns? I use a lot of oil to protect from rust especially the 870. I know these are some dumb questions but I have to learn sometime lol
Old 09-25-2006, 12:33 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: How often to clean guns?

I will usually clean them out (pistols) after every trip to the range. If I had the gun stored since last year, say rifle or shotgun, something that I only will shoot in the mid summer and fall of the year, and not at the range monthly, I will clean those out before shooting them, and then once again after being at the range. Friends say it might be a bit much, but I have loads of cleaning supplies to last into the next decade, and I just like my guns to be squeaky clean.
Old 09-25-2006, 02:40 PM
Spike