HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   copper removal (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/157742-copper-removal.html)

sffguitar 09-24-2006 11:01 PM

copper removal

hey all. about two months ago I noticed some "rust in my rifling" so i tried gettin it out but it never came out....so I took it to the range shot the gun, and it shot fine. well the past couple weeks Ive been reading abot copper fouling and realized thats what the problem was in my gun. (Im kinda new to shooting; more or so gun maitenance.) so I spent all day trying to get it out with clp foam. and a little has come out, Im jst wondering how long it usaully takes to get it allout and maybe some of the tricks of the trade. thanks

stubblejumper 09-24-2006 11:10 PM

RE: copper removal

Copper removal is fairly easy and quick if you use barnes cr-10.Another method is to use jb paste,but this takes someelbow grease.

early 09-25-2006 02:54 AM

i use 'shooter's choice copper remover' (it has amonia in it)

i like the amonia type removers cuz i can tell when its clean by lookin at the patches

when they don't turn blue/green its clean

alwayls follow up with plain solvent to remove the copper remover from the bore, and lightly oil b4 storage

early

ranger140892 09-25-2006 05:20 AM

I like CR 10 too. It's the only copper remover I know of that works just like the directions on the back of the bottle says.But I don't use it every time. There's no need to totally de-copper the bore every time you clean it.

bigcountry 09-25-2006 06:34 AM