Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 General Purpose Rifle >

General Purpose Rifle

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

General Purpose Rifle

Old 08-15-2006, 07:02 PM

Default RE: General Purpose Rifle

Always great replies from you guys. I hadn't thought of a couple of the rifles that you guys suggested. I have no experience with the .25-06 or the Marlin 1894 in 357. The rifles that I had considered were the .243, .223 and the 30-30. Just wondering how the .25-06 and the .243 compare? Also, does anyone else have any experience with the Marlin?
Old 08-15-2006, 07:13 PM
Boone & Crockett

According to Gods gift to the firearms community, I am a super cheap person. I still like the 223. I kinda feel bad for saving money at the range. NOT
Old 08-15-2006, 07:26 PM

I haven't hunted with a .223 although I have shot them a good bit. I have a lot of confidence in my ability to choose and take a good shot, so I think I would be okay if I decided to take a dear with one, but I know that they are a sore spot on this board.
Old 08-15-2006, 07:58 PM
Boone & Crockett

I don't recommend the 223 for deer hunting although its legal where I hunt. I took several deer with the Savage over and under in 222. when that was the only rifle I had. It worked well and I never lost a deer with it. I did pick my shots though and kept the shots under 100 yards. That was beffore the premium bullets meant for deer were around. Barnes and Nosler make bullets now made for deer hunting with the 22 Centerfires. I never use them anymore but in a pinch, I know it would work again.
Old 08-15-2006, 09:07 PM
Typical Buck