Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

moly coat

Old 06-28-2006, 06:06 PM
Typical Buck

Default moly coat

what the popular opinion on a moy coated bullet? I've heard good and I've heard bad.
Old 07-01-2006, 12:16 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: moly coat

Surprised no feedback on this. I have read (but I am no engineer) that moly coats leave a residue that builds up and cannot be removed. Sulphuric acid builds up under it. So I have not dashed out and bought any. If there are any dedicated users out there, perhaps they can relate their actual experience.
Old 07-01-2006, 12:22 PM
Banned

I have shot several hundred rounds of Hornady 55 grVmax moly through my 22.250 and my rifle bbl always cleans nice and shines like a diamond in a goats butt.. The ammo shoots awesome in my savage mod 12 also. HCH

Old 07-01-2006, 01:16 PM

I have hadmostly badexperiences as well. One rule about moly: if you shoot moly bullets, don't shoot any regular bullets. The mixture will really plug up your barrel. And even if you shoot moly exclusively, you will eventually create yourself a huge cleaning task. I have had a number of rifles in my shopwhere the owner thought the rifle was shot out. Groups were terrible, but the Hawkeye bore scope showed minimal throat erosion. Cleaning the bore over a period of days using brass brushes, solvent, hundreds of patches, and JB paste; the barrel when finally clean starting shooting well again. Although the barrel doesn't heat up any where near as fast as it does with conventional bullets, I still don't use or recommend moly.
Old 07-01-2006, 01:24 PM
Banned

Why would a company like Hornady want to ruin peoples guns? Sounds bad for business. I would think that if this ruined your gun than they would not want their name on the product. Maybe these guys just never clean their guns????HCH
Old 07-01-2006, 01:33 PM