Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

One Weapon

Old 01-07-2006, 08:59 PM

Default One Weapon

I've always loved firearms, and I've always owned them, but I am now recently married and I have a new daughter. My question is if you could own only one firearm to protect your family what would it be?

Right now the weapons that I am considering are a tactical pump shotgun or a 40 s&w. I've owned 9mms in the past, but I don't know if I would feel safe protecting my family with one. I am really intrigued by the 10mm, but I have no experience, and it is hard to find people that own them to get their opinions. Anyway I appreciate you guys giving me imput in advance.
Old 01-07-2006, 10:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: One Weapon

I just recently read an article about this very subject. The writer went on to point something out that I never gave a thought to. Lets say you have someone in your house, and you will be shooting at them (just for the sake of your question). The writer felt that a reduced load shotgun would probably be the better bet considering who may also be in your house (kids sleeping ect) a .45 cal bullet can go through alot of walls. Now before anyone jumps on me, NO Ive never shot a gun in my house, and NO I dont know the true affect of a .45 cal bullet compared to a reduced load shotgun, but it kinda makes sense. Heck for all I know the shotgun may do more damage, I was just reiterating what I read.
Old 01-07-2006, 10:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

I bought a 40 S&W just for this reason, I can have it close at hand at all times, and no one knows its there. If you do buy a pistol for home protection a good thing to have on it is a tactical light and some nite sites. I am going to put together a tactical Benelli M1 Super 90 for the house as well once funds allow. The nice thing about a shotgun is its alot cheaper to go out an play with than any pistol caliber.
Old 01-07-2006, 11:01 PM
Nontypical Buck