Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 need help picking a gun >

need help picking a gun

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

need help picking a gun

Old 09-01-2005, 08:06 AM

Default need help picking a gun

I have an eight year old daughter that wants to go hunting. could anyone tell me which one would be better the 410 or the 20 gage youth. for deer and hog hunting in north central florida. thanks
Old 09-01-2005, 08:24 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: need help picking a gun

Most kids can handle a 20 guage. I think I would start there. Start with some lite trap loads and let her work up.
Old 09-01-2005, 08:34 AM
Typical Buck

I agree, a 20 gauge is a good place to start.
Old 09-01-2005, 11:08 AM
Typical Buck

The 20ga would be better, I started shooting a 20ga when I was about 8 years old.
Old 09-01-2005, 12:25 PM

The 20 gauge can be a gun that she can use for her whole life. That is your best choice. When I was 9 my grandfather got me a full size Remington 870 express 12 gauge...28 inch barrel too! LOL. That is a little too much gun for a little girl, but you would be surprised at what kids could handle with the proper guidance.
Old 09-01-2005, 02:55 PM

Get a break open 20 guage like a H&R or simular, get a good recoil pad and some weight to put in the butt. The H&R ultra slug guns come with a steal bar in them. Shouldn't be too hard to pick one up and stick in there. It works pretty well.

Then let her shoot some light field loads. That should work ok. They make inserts as well so you can shoot 410 shells out of them if you want. However from what I understand they are not very accurate at all.