Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Holy cow...my bolt handle came off >

Holy cow...my bolt handle came off

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Holy cow...my bolt handle came off

Old 08-07-2005, 12:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Holy cow...my bolt handle came off

from the looks of it, its a stainless steel gun. as a welder I know it can be difficult to weld stainless steel and very easy not to get the weld hot enough to bond the steel. Just send it back to remington im sure they willbe more thenhappy to fix it or replace the bolt altogether for you. Myself i will still own remington over any other gun, your problem IMO is minor since it can be fixed I own several remingtons and a few that are probably older then you and i have yet to see this sort of problem on any of them, but then none of them are stainless guns.
Old 08-07-2005, 12:58 AM

As stated this does happen with rem model 700 from time to time its just one of those things in mass production.They will fix it free of charge for it was not your fault. Not like aforge bolt handle like on a mauser or as stated a Rem model 788 which is threaded like the 22 lr is some models. Except that his happened and go on from there,yes its frustrating for one,since you put out good money. It will work out ok in the long run .vangunsmith
Old 08-07-2005, 10:24 AM

thanks for lettin us know. now i know never to buy a bolt action remmington!!
Old 08-07-2005, 12:36 PM
Nontypical Buck