Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 sighting in for different positions of shooting? >

sighting in for different positions of shooting?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

sighting in for different positions of shooting?

Old 05-22-2005, 09:59 PM

Default sighting in for different positions of shooting?

sorry ive been asking so many noobish question, because the fact is, im a monster gun noob. haha. anyway, im just wondering if when you sight in at the bench then stand up and shoot, will you be off again? or is the scope still sighted in? i was shooting pretty good (for me at least) on the bench today but then i stood up and it seemed like i was shooting considerably lower while standing. so the basic question is, depending on what position you are in, will your shot go different places even if your aimed at the same point.

thanks
Old 05-23-2005, 07:47 AM

Default RE: sighting in for different positions of shooting?

From doing exactly what you did, I can almost always see differences in confirmed zeros. I don't shoot anything less than 200 yards and at 200 yards the differences in zeros are small, on the order of a couple inches worst case scenario for me anyway.

IMHO the difference is often to the recoil differences of leaning into the gun vs "free recoil" of standing. I find that my zeros differ the most between standing and all the others.

Of course your offhand shooting groups will be worse, maybe much worse and it all can be caused by poor trigger control trying to grab what looks good vs accepting the wobble and squeezing through it.

End thoughts--- if you are looking through the center of your scope in all positions and at 100 yards I"d bet the total difference in zeros from all positions should be on the order of 2 inches or less.

Jeff
Old 05-23-2005, 08:20 AM