Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

fly fishing help

Old 07-18-2003, 12:01 AM
Fork Horn

Default fly fishing help

Im new to fly fishing dont have any of the equipment for it yet. im
just wondering the learning curve that fly fishing has. I went fishing
with someone i work with and he fly fished. i was wondering if i would
be able to learn how to fly fish on my own or would it be a good idea
to get someone to show me the basics and what not?? im just trying to
find out all the information about fly fishing i can. all the help,
hints and advice you can give me will be alot of help. Thanks

Outlaw
Old 07-18-2003, 07:34 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: fly fishing help

it is best to learn from some that knows how to fly fish already but you will pick up thier bad habits. But is not hard to learn and you could learn on your but having someone teach you would be better
Old 07-20-2003, 09:24 PM
Giant Nontypical

Outlaw,
Riding someone elses coattails for a while is a good way to pick up the basics for a certain area pretty quickly........if you want to get truly good at it, it just takes time and commitment. When i went thru my " learning curve" phase I basically abandoned all other means of fishing and stuck to the long rod. I ate, slept and dreamt about catching fish on a fly........I tied my own flies, read anything I could get my hands on, and what I think is most important: I fished ALONE.
No pressure to catch fish........only to learn. I fished every chance I could and learned from every new trip.
If you are already a decent fisherman with regular gear , fishing for the same species, believe it or not flyfishing is not THAT much different. Its still fishing.

Now you are throwing the line instead of the weight of a " lure" but a fish doesn' t change its eating habits because you have a flyrod in your hands now.