Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Fishing Forum > Freshwater Fishing
Tubes?What's the best retrieve or is there a best? >

Tubes?What's the best retrieve or is there a best?

Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

Tubes?What's the best retrieve or is there a best?

Old 04-19-2010, 02:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Tubes?What's the best retrieve or is there a best?

I for some reason just discovered how excellent a bait they are specially for where I fish here in Missouri and as a tube rookie I was wondering about the retrieve.Is there a hard and fast rule or is it pretty much open to improvisation?I mean I fish a lot of plastic baits and I definitely vary my retrieve according to conditions and I'm wondering how the tubes lend themselves to this,any information will be greatly appreciated and might I add put to use.
Old 04-20-2010, 03:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

I find it hard to believe that nobody has an opinion or tip to share.
Old 04-20-2010, 04:54 AM
Giant Nontypical

i like the strike king pro tubes

i just flip them and hop them around cover and thru beds, just like regular plastics for me...they really shine when the bite is tough

BTW, i checked this forum last night and did not notice your post
Old 04-20-2010, 05:04 AM
Dominant Buck

I used Zoom pumpkinseed green 3 inch tubes last year..I attached a micro small split shot above it and the action was aweso0me..

I'd pitch it under a willow branch ..the tube would float but slowly fill with water ..took about 15 seconds and then slowly swim down to the bottom..I lost count of my hits...it was awesome..they would attack it swimming down..hooking the tube was a different story..took a while to figure out the best hook rig

When structure wasn't aqn issue I hooked it like a jig..hook sticking right out..caught my best tube bass like that..all others I tried burying the hook in the tube..had a hard time setting the hook..