Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

fly fishing

Old 02-04-2006, 12:29 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default fly fishing

i am new to fly fishing i went to walmart and bought my first fly rod and reel just something cheap it has a single leader with it that is like 6 feet long do i use all of the leader of cut i down if so how long do i wont my leader and do i use the small end or the larger diamiter end also any tips would be appresated
Old 02-05-2006, 03:32 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: fly fishing

you r going to want to use the hole leader. Your going to want to tie the smaller end to your fly and the thicker end to your line. I would recomend you go buy a fly fishing book from that wal-mart where you got your fly rod. I learned a lot from mine. Make sure it teaches you a few nots.
Old 02-06-2006, 05:25 AM

The only tip I have is fish as much as you can.

Old 02-06-2006, 06:11 AM
Typical Buck

Yes, you tie the thicker end of the leader to the butt section of mono that should have been tied to your fly line coming out of the reel. I would recommend purchasing some tippet. Find tippet of the size you want and tie about 2-3 feet onto the end of your leader. Then tie your fly onto the tippet. This will serve two purposes:

1. Saves your leader as you change flies.
2. Gives you a little more distance between the fly and the fly line.

Other than that, just go get your hands dirty. I have a good pdf document with knot instructions if you are interested. It's too big to post here, so you need to send me an email and I'd be happy to share it with you.

Cheers,
Old 02-06-2006, 08:05 AM
Typical Buck

mustad has a good suggestion about knots. You will need this info. I lost more fish to poorly tied flies than I care to mention. So, get good tippet and tie well. EJ
Old 02-12-2006, 01:09 PM
Nontypical Buck