HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Firearm Review Forum (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/firearm-review-forum-33/)
-   -   chokes (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/firearm-review-forum/61415-chokes.html)

Bowshooter48 05-15-2004 07:31 AM

chokes

I recently bought a 835 Mossberg shotgun,I an going to shoot trap with it,it came with a modified steal ,would that be ok to use, or should I get a different choke that is desined for trap? I am new to this game , but it sure looks like fun.

brdhntr 05-15-2004 07:24 PM

RE: chokes

you can use what you have but may want more options. like any shooting situation, chake and shotshell selection will greatly enhance your shooting, hitting more targets. it is really personal preference. also, is it true trap, skeet, sproting clays, or just shooting clays for fun?

Big Al C 05-28-2004 08:58 PM

I would say get a few extra chokes. The modified will work for trap, but you may eventually use the gun for something else where a different choke will be well worth the money. Especially since choke tubes are not really that expensive unless you insist on buying the priciest. Try Cabela's or Bass Pro, they both have a pretty good selection of styles and price ranges. Best of luck with your new gun.

targetpuncher 05-29-2004 12:02 PM

I am not a long-time sporting clays shooter.... but, I will relate something (to you) which helped me. When I bought my shotgun, it came with both a modified and a full choke. I knew already that the full choke would be rather useless for skeet/trap... but, I tried the modified. My shooting friends all recommended getting a "skeet" choke, as the modified type is designed for quite a smaller pattern than the skeet type. I subsequently did purchase a "skeet" choke... and my scores have risen considerably. Some of that may have to do with practice... but, I did notice an IMMEDIATE improvement in my scores, as soon as I began using the skeet choke.