Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
 Accuracy on a budget !?!? >

Accuracy on a budget !?!?

Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

Accuracy on a budget !?!?

Old 03-15-2004, 01:18 AM

Default Accuracy on a budget !?!?

I have been living in Hawaii for the past 7 years and hunting here isn't really an option. Now I am planning a move back to the mainland in early November(probably Texas) and I can't wait to hit the woods again. The move will probably set the family back $5 - $7000, so the budget will be a little tight. I need a really accurate deer rifle and scope for around $7- $900. I was a marksmanship instructor in the USMC and I take a lot of pride in my shooting, so sloppy groups just won't work. Open to all suggestions, but this is the way I'm leaning.....

RIFLE - Savage model 111GNS w/accutrigger - 7mm mag - around $400
Never owned one, but haven't heard anything negative about the accuracy.

SCOPE - Burris Fullfield II 4.5-14x42 - $320
Seems like a lot of scope for the money.

Please reply to this if you have any experience with either of these items or if you have a better suggestion and please be specific.

The move is 7 and a half months away and I am already losing sleep over this. Seems a little early for buck fever.
Old 03-15-2004, 05:05 AM

Default RE: Accuracy on a budget !?!?

Within the price range you mentioned my personal picks would be a Tikka Whitetail Huner or T3 along with a Bushnell 3200 series scope or the Burris you mentioned. I think you'll find the Tikka rifles to be much more refined rifle than the Savage and on average better accuracy as well. I own several Savage rifles, but much prefer the Tikkas.
Old 03-15-2004, 10:52 AM
Typical Buck

IF, You only need one shot why not get the T/C Encore? That gun will make almost any scope seem as though it works well!
Old 03-15-2004, 03:47 PM