Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
.32 caliber muzzleloader >

.32 caliber muzzleloader

Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

.32 caliber muzzleloader

Old 12-05-2020, 03:23 PM
Spike

Thank you for all the advice. I'm kinda new to muzzleloaders. I got my first black powder deer last year with a 50 caliber inline. But I like the more traditional style better, which reminds me hows the recoil on a 50 caliber Hawken style rifle? I'm looking at one of them for deer hunting( specifically the Traditions Hawken Woodsman or the Traditions Trapper percussion pistol 50 caliber. Hows the recoil on a 50 caliber pistol like the one mentioned above? Sorry for all the questions and going off topic from 32 caliber to 50 caliber. I'm just trying to learn all that I can. Thanks
Old 12-06-2020, 03:55 AM
Fork Horn

The fifty caliber guns don't kick much more than a 20gauge shotgun,although for me the Hawken style tends to slap me in the cheek. I prefer a straighter stock with no cheek piece. As for the Traditions Trapper 50 caliber pistol,I took a deer with mine last year at about 20 yards. I would not recommend shooting a deer much beyond 35 yards with the gun. With a load of 40 grains of 3f and a 490 patched round ball, the energy level is not there for clean kills beyond 35 yards in my opinion. Now I had a T/C scout pistol once that I loaded with 60 grains of 3f and a 240 grain ballet that took deer out to 50 yards, but It kicked like a 500 S&W.
Old 12-06-2020, 01:51 PM
Spike