Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
 new member has ammo questions Savage 111 >

new member has ammo questions Savage 111

Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

new member has ammo questions Savage 111

Old 09-18-2008, 01:14 PM

Default new member has ammo questions Savage 111

Hi everyone. Been bowhunting for 6 years and have now become a proud rifleman as well. I am VERY new to firearms so please excuse my ignorance regarding the following questions. Just bought my first rifle:
Savage 111 synthetic, bolt action 30.06. A local sporting goods store was having a sale and the wife took me down to get my 40th Birthday present.
The package was just over $400.00 w/ a Simmons scope, and sling. I picked up a few guns twice as much money but they did'nt feel right. Funny, I picked up the $400.00 gun first and after at least a dozen later I went back to the first the Savage 111. I live in California where blacktail deer and pigs are commonplace for hunters. It has been suggested I go with one of two things: A 150g-165g bullet (Remington and Hornady have been suggested) and simply stay with that round at the shooting range and in the feild. Others suggest a 150g will do the trick just fine on deer and pigs but step up to 180g for the occasional elk hunt and go to the range beforehand to reset sight for bigger load. Sorry so long-winded, just want to do it right the first time. Suggestion? Thanks,
Mark
Old 09-18-2008, 02:07 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: new member has ammo questions Savage 111

Congratulations on getting a new rifle. I would go with the 165 grain for deer and pigs, and the 180 grain for elk. I really only hunt deer so others may have more to say about larger game. In particular I like the Remington Core-Lokt in 165 grain. I'm not a fan ofballistic tips.
Old 09-18-2008, 10:55 PM
Super Moderator