Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
Switching To A Crossbow >

Switching To A Crossbow

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Switching To A Crossbow

Old 06-17-2018, 07:25 PM
Super Moderator

Again, I have no experience with the reverse limb bows. My crossbow is a horton that's approaching 20 years old now. So it's heavy, wide, and probably slow by todays standards. Still kills deer just fine. But I honestly would not want to carry it on an elk hunt.

When I do finally upgrade(Which won't be for another few years when my kids are ready to start hunting deer with me, I rarely use the crossbow currently but will start my kids out on one when they are ready.) I will be seriously looking into the reverse limb bows.

-Jake
Old 06-19-2018, 08:22 AM
Super Moderator

Have you thought about the Excalibur bows or are you set on the compounds? I bought a Matrix 380 s few years back and it is great. I still prefer a regular bow but when I get the xbow out it always serves its purpose. It is also very easy to draw.
Old 06-19-2018, 09:30 AM
Giant Nontypical

I like their lightness and simplicity, but not their width compared to the better compounds. I also don't like their crank system. I think that's one of the best pluses is the crank on the Tenpoint bows.
Old 07-03-2018, 06:23 AM
Fork Horn

I am having a fit with broadheads shooting off right now. G5 Monetec and Trocar 3 blades shooting 2" right and 1" low at only ten yards! This is on my Killer Instinct 350. My daughter uses a TenPoint and hers hardly changes.

I have Trocar HBX Hybrid mechincals on shipment and waiting to test them later this week. I saw other people using them like field points and hope they do. Once I get somethign working I am going to try and tune for using the G5's again. It's been highly frustrating.
Old 07-19-2018, 04:54 AM
Spike