Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
Xbow newbie, some questions >

Xbow newbie, some questions

Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Xbow newbie, some questions

Old 12-10-2011, 05:04 PM
Spike

Default Xbow newbie, some questions

I'm looking at getting a xbow to increase my deer hunting season. I used to bow hunt back in my youth but now I just use my shotgun and muzzleloader.

The reason why I'm thinking of getting a xbow over a regular bow is because I would have less practice time required with a xbow. Would this be a correct assumption?

Doesn't a xbow have longer range over a regular bow?

I'm just getting started in my research, one thing is aparent that there is some dislike for barnett xbows
Old 12-10-2011, 05:21 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

I would have less practice time required with a xbow. Would this be a correct assumption?
Yes, less practice than needed with a compound but you should still practice from all shooting positions, situations and ethical ranges. You still have to raise the bow and the bow makes a whole whack of noise. There are no "gimmies". But with enough practice you'll likely muff less shots than you would with a compound.

Doesn't a xbow have longer range over a regular bow?
Nope!

I'm just getting started in my research, one thing is aparent that there is some dislike for barnett xbows
No comment.
Old 12-13-2011, 11:27 AM
Fork Horn

Patman- There are only two advantages of a crossbow over a vertical bow. 1- little practice needed. 2-far easier to understand how to shoot.

You can buy one, sight it in and hit the woods. It shoots no farther or faster than a compound. It is no more accurate. It is one heck of a lot heavier and clumsier. It is ideal for young folks and old folks and ones that are unable to pull a vertical. And.....they can get real expensive.

if I had a choice, I'd still be shooting a compound. I have no choice.