Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
Buying my first crossbow >

Buying my first crossbow

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Buying my first crossbow

Old 07-12-2010, 07:06 AM
Wub
Typical Buck

Default Buying my first crossbow

I decided to get a crossbow. I don't know anything about them so I was hoping to get some advice. I've been hunting with compound bows for a few years but I've never even shot a crossbow.

I'm hoping to keep within a budget of about $500 (for everything that I'll need). I'm totally open to buying used too.

Can you folks give me some ideas of what I should consider (make, model, etc...) What should I stay away from?
Old 07-12-2010, 09:58 AM
Wub
Typical Buck

Well, I'm thinking about a Horton Legend HD, or a Horton Team Realtree package. Dos anyone have anything good or bad to say about these?
Old 07-12-2010, 01:17 PM
Spike

Default take a look at

the entry-level bows from Parker...the Enforcer and Bushwhacker....or the two crossbows from Wicked Ridge (made by TenPoint)...the Warrior and the Invader....is you $500 budget just for the crossbow...or for everything - arrows, target, etc?
Old 07-13-2010, 10:42 AM
Fork Horn

I'm an Excalibur fan....lifetime warranty....easy to work on and you can restring in the field if necessary.
Old 07-13-2010, 05:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

Ok lets do this like i am a shoe saleman, its all about comfort fer you. Call Wyvern Creations & talk about what you want. He is a great internet dealer
Old 07-15-2010, 01:25 PM
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by briarpatch
the entry-level bows from Parker...the Enforcer and Bushwhacker....or the two crossbows from Wicked Ridge (made by TenPoint)...the Warrior and the Invader....is you $500 budget just for the crossbow...or for everything - arrows, target, etc?