Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
Whats an affective range for a crossbow? >

Whats an affective range for a crossbow?

Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Whats an affective range for a crossbow?

Old 08-13-2009, 06:09 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Whats an affective range for a crossbow?

I have been hunting for over 25 years both bow and rifle ...Ive taken a good number of deer with both but never took one with a crossbow ...I am 58 years old and will be C/B hunting this year and was wondering what you guy's who have been doing it awhile consider an effective and responsible yardage to take a shot ...considering its a clear shot ... I own a 10pt Phantom and it is very accurate out to 50 yards but Im not real sure I would want to take a 50 yard shot ..I do know that at 50 yards the bolt sinks up to with in an inch of the fletching when shooting into "The Block" ...whats are ya'lls opinion ?

dd
Old 08-13-2009, 06:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

35 yards is my max,can group out to 55 yards but feel
my best is at 35 with my Defender CLS and would be
the same with my Ten Point Curve.
Old 08-13-2009, 08:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

40 is max for me. I can hit a tennis ball at 50 no sweat...but the tennis ball will be there when the arrow gets there.
Old 08-15-2009, 08:00 AM
Nontypical Buck

Accuracy is not the main issue - the main issue is arrow flight time. Even if you are accurate at 50 yards, a deer can move quite a bit in the time it takes the arrow to get there. Crossbows are pretty loud, and deer have a tendency to jump the string.

For me, the closer the better. If you are accurate at 50 yards and under, you know the range, and the deer is relaxed - i.e. head down, feeding, then a 40 yard shot isn't out of the question. But for me, I limit my shots to 30 yards max- preferably closer, especially if they are on edge.
Old 08-15-2009, 08:13 AM
Fork Horn