HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Crossbows (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/crossbows-76/)
-   -   Silencer Kit. (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/crossbows/258402-silencer-kit.html)

Southern Buck 08-18-2008 11:20 AM

Silencer Kit.

Im new to the whole crossbow thing, do I need to get a silenceing kit for my crossbow or does it really matter?

GrumpyTom 08-18-2008 11:27 AM

RE: Silencer Kit.

ORIGINAL: Southern Buck

Im new to the whole crossbow thing, do I need to get a silenceing kit for my crossbow or does it really matter?
The plain answer is NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Crossbows are just plain noisy, but then so is the arrow in travel. Just about all noise damppening systems will slow down your arrow speed some, and since you can never totally quieten your bow or stop the arrrow from making noise (in flight) I would rather have the extra speed. Just remember to keep your shots to a reasonable range and you should not have any problems.

Mike Van Veghten 08-18-2008 12:45 PM

Depends on a lot of things.
How noisy is your bow?
The bow design makes a lot of difference.
How quiet do you want to make it?

The two quietest bows on the current market are the Bowtech Desert Stryker and the Horton reCon 175.
I've got a reCon, added two Bowjax limb silencers to it....all I get now is a fairly quiet "thud" sound. Very nice!

Then there are some bows...like grumpy says....not much you can do to make big steps to quiet them.

Though of the three silencers I've tried, the Boxjax come up a bit better than the others...to my ears anyway.

Mike

Southern Buck 08-18-2008 02:06 PM

Thanks for the help I think im just gonna let it stay like it is its not that terribly loud, I dont think a deer is gonna dodge a arrow at 345 fps at 25 yards.

Dnk 08-18-2008 06:32 PM