Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 Trying to decide on crossbow HELP >

Trying to decide on crossbow HELP

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Trying to decide on crossbow HELP

Old 12-09-2007, 10:31 AM

Default Trying to decide on crossbow HELP

Hi im new to this website. I have been hunting for three years now and have always only hunted with a gun but i still have not got my first deer yet. I really want to go hunting more often so i can get one. I am only 15 years old so i have a very limited budget.
What crossbow up to 200 dollars would you reccommend?????
Here are a couple i have looked at:
http://www.crossbow.com/tacomabyhortontrac150
Horton Tacoma Trac 150
http://www.barnettcrossbows.com/recu...s/panzer_v.asp
Barnett Panzer V recurve crossbow
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=4241736
Horton Steelforce recurve

Any help is appreciated
Thanks

Old 12-09-2007, 10:45 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Trying to decide on crossbow HELP

You can get crossbows in that price range, but I would recomend for you to save longer and get a better quality bow. These cheaper bows can work for you, but they will not have the capabilities of the better made bows. They will not be a fun to shoot either. You have said that you have not harvested a deer yet, I would hate for your bow to let you down when you finally got the chance to harvest one. There are many great quality bows on the market, they are just more money then you are looking at. If you can save up to the $400-$500 range or higher, you can get yourself a bow that will last you a very long time with great dependability and accuracy. I would hate for anyone to get a cheaper bow and become discouraged and not happy, then leave the crossbow world.

I honestly believe that if you wait and save more, you would be happier.
Old 12-09-2007, 10:54 AM