Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

Hunting Coyotes

Old 12-03-2007, 09:40 PM

Default Hunting Coyotes

Greetings to all - I am new at crossbows and don't have a clue what they can do. I am an avid shooter shooting competition in IPSC pistol and3 Gunas well as Sniper matches. However, I want to hunt using a Crossbow. I have a few Coyotes who come in myarea making meals of our pets. I have called them up to a tree about 30 to 40yards from my front door. I could camo up and get close.

What is the effective range?

What kind should I get (about 6' tall and about 260 lbs - an old fart).

I looked at some in the Cabelas catalog and played with a few at the new Bass Pro shop in my area. Someof the crossbows have pulley type systems and some don't? Seems the pulley's would be better?

How fast is a reload?

I looked at some of the crank assists for reloading but they seem slow and noisy. How hard is it to pull back a 200 lbs. crossbow?

How do you practice with one? Can you reuse the arrows?

Price - No more then $1,000.00.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Safety Off
Old 12-03-2007, 11:17 PM

Default RE: Hunting Coyotes

the parker buck buster is a good bow i got mine off ebay from a guy named wyvern creations for about 475.00 with 6 extra arrows this guys customer service is AA-1 hes there for you after the sale the parker buck buster cocks easy with a cocking aid hope this helps
Old 12-04-2007, 05:33 AM
Typical Buck

The effective range of a crossbow is well over 100 yards, but only for target shooting.. Most guys claim to stay within about 30 yards for hunting deer, I wouldn't hesitate to take a 50 yard shot at a coyote.
Excalibur makes a few great bows, for $1000 you would have all the options and a case of beer or two.
Shoot lots of them, find one you like and that fits you, just like any other shouldered firearm. You will still end up with an Excalibur though.