HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Crossbows (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/crossbows-76/)
-   -   Compound or Recurve (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/crossbows/184900-compound-recurve.html)

joeyd50 03-17-2007 04:58 AM

Compound or Recurve

Hi guys, I'm just wondering what's the advantage of a compound crossbow? I'm new to crossbows, but been bow hunting for 30 years always shooting a compound. When it came time to get a xbow I was all ready to get one of the name brand compounds, till I started reading about them and asking questions, I ended up with a Excalibur Vixen. I just could not find any advantages a compound would have over a recurve. I asked this question on Pa. Outdoors and got no response.
Joe

Hotburn76 03-17-2007 05:10 AM

RE: Compound or Recuirve

Compounds in design are more efficient with draw weight to speed ratio. A Horton compound 175 Shoots at 325 FPS and a Excal recurve 200 shoots at 330 FPS. You can get more speed with less draw weight. They are also a little better on the width. But after saying all this I have plans on buying a Excal this late spring or summer. The recurve has less moving parts that can affect your shot and with the recurve you do not need a press to service your bow. They are wider, but when cocked it is only three more inches I think. That may not be everything but its what I have been told and read on the net.

lemoyne 03-17-2007 08:32 AM

RE: Compound or Recuirve

There is one thing that Hotburn 76 did not mention that I can think of that might be considered an advantage thats that the draw weight is evened out more on at least some I know it is on my 10point. There are also some disadvantages to compounds they are louder and harder to quiet down [I also have an Exocet] and my personal belief is that the minimal up keep and the fact that repairs are almost unheard of make the excalibers an excellant choice ,the price comparison does not hurt them a bit either. Lee