Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 DIAL -A-RANGE OR NOT? >

DIAL -A-RANGE OR NOT?

Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

DIAL -A-RANGE OR NOT?

Old 10-07-2006, 09:17 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default DIAL -A-RANGE OR NOT?

i am not good at crossbows sights etc but i am helping sight in crossbows for friends at our sportsmen club..i have always shot recurve and still do.. when i had compound bow,i used only 1 pin..now the scopes i look at are dial-a-range type and most are horton bows at club..i shot at 20,30,40 yards using the different lines in scope,then i used the 20 yd line only and sighted in for 20 yd which was #2 on dial a -range..the 20 yd line is darker also.. i could not believe how accurate i was with the dial adj using only the 20 yd sight..i turned it to#3 which is 30 yds, and shot dead..same with #4 at 40 yds, dead, i mean dead like 1 inch in circle in target..

my question is, i read here that most just use the 20.30 ,40 lines in scope so they dont have to mess with turning the adj to proper no. for the distance..is this way most of you do it or do some of you use the no.for yds and turn it when you see a deer..

i was shocked at how well the horton i sighted in shot off bags at range using the dial-a-range with hunting points which were spitfire 100..
Old 10-07-2006, 10:01 PM

Default RE: DIAL -A-RANGE OR NOT?

The dial-a-range works but I have never been a fan of it. I have always been paranoid of setting it high and then forgetting to turn it down on close shots. I have some friends like you that say they love it. I just don't like setting things that I can forget about that can cost me a deer. Most of the guys that use it have a single dot red dot scope, or a standard shotgun scope withonly on set ofhairs.
Old 10-08-2006, 05:44 AM
Nontypical Buck