Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Aging

Old 11-28-2020, 09:14 AM
Spike

Default Aging

I’m new to this all and had a question. After field dressing a deer or hog. You would want to age it to lessen the “gamey” taste, correct? I have mostly heard of doing this in coolers of ice for 7-10 days. Would buying a old fridge and doing it in there he just as good?

is hog 7-10 days also?
Old 11-29-2020, 03:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

Hanging Time

65-70 degrees 24-36 hours

50 degrees 3-4 days

35-40 degrees 7-10 days

I took these from a book on butchering. I’ve been following these guidelines for over 19 years as I do all my own butchering.
I've shaved a little time off what was reccomended to be on the safe side and hasn't failed me yet. I do pack the chest cavity with ice if it's above 40

Last edited by jerseyhunter; 11-29-2020 at 03:20 PM.
Old 11-30-2020, 04:04 AM
Boone & Crockett

I have my deer hung in a walk in cooler for 6 days. No need to age pork. Aging improved the flavor and tenderness, however there is no such thing as venison tasting Gamey, it tastes like venison, bad tasting venison was poorly handled after the animal was killed.
Old 11-30-2020, 02:44 PM
Dominant Buck

Agreed OT. I think hanging helps to tenderize the deer, elk and moose. I always take care to handle my kills and do all my own butchering so I control all aspects of the hang time to freezer.
Old 11-30-2020, 06:19 PM
Spike

Thanks for yalls input
Old 12-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Fork Horn