HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Camp Cooking and Game Processing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/camp-cooking-game-processing-30/)
-   -   Advice for a rookie...? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/camp-cooking-game-processing/416897-advice-rookie.html)

Jakethasnake 01-16-2018 04:47 PM

Advice for a rookie...?

So I've run into a bit of a question... I'm rather new to deer hunting and getting my meat processed... I harvested 2 does this past Saturday, and was called Monday before noon to announce they had both of my deer processed and ready for pickup...

I had them leave the backstraps, tenderloins, and roasts in tact but made sausage out of the rest.

Something that was brought to my attention, by a friend, after I picked up my processed deer is the Processor did not have time to properly bleed out the meat... Is this something I should be concerned with? I've already frozen the meat, but should I thaw the backstrap, tenderloins, and roasts, and do a sort-of bleed out procedure for a day or two? or just find a different processor for my future harvests?

Also on a side note- the processor packed everything on Styrofoam backing and plastic wrap like what you would find at the grocery store... Do I need to re-package to prevent freezer burn? or is this sufficient?

Thanks for your time!

Oldtimr 01-17-2018 03:47 AM

Dead animals do not bleed out , when the heart stops the bleeding stops. If hung, meat will lose some blood through gravity. I have my deer hung in a walk-in for 6 or 7 days to age a bit but it will still exude blood when it thaws out, that will always happen. If you are concerned about the blood, put your meat in a collander or kitchen sieve when it is thawing and then put the collander or seive in a bowl and put it in the fridge and excess blood will drain into the bowl. Venison burger is usually bloodier than beef, not to worry.

davidg 01-17-2018 03:50 AM