Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Camp Cooking and Game Processing
Low down on dehydrators and jerky ect... >

Low down on dehydrators and jerky ect...

Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Low down on dehydrators and jerky ect...

Old 10-23-2009, 03:03 PM
byg
Spike

Default Low down on dehydrators and jerky ect...

Ok fella, tell me what you know... I am thinking about getting one to make jeky etc.. I have no experience, and I do not plan on going commercial with it.LOL...Is there a good basic unit out there and what should I look for in one

Thanks
Byg
Old 10-23-2009, 05:01 PM
Banned

You can get a basic unit for about 40 bucks at wally. Nothing fancy. You can also put a cookie rack a sheet pan in a 150 degree oven with the door slightly cracked. the trays on the dehydrator are the way to go, just make sure you rotate them. I always use what I had left over from last years to make jerky.
Old 10-23-2009, 06:25 PM
byg
Spike

Thanks for the replies... I bought a chepo at harbor freight and it says it not for raw meat so I figured it didnt heat enough for what I needed.. I assume the better ones are ok for using raw meat? What do you guys think is better ground or sliced meat?
Old 10-23-2009, 06:57 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by byg
Thanks for the replies... I bought a chepo at harbor freight and it says it not for raw meat so I figured it didnt heat enough for what I needed.. I assume the better ones are ok for using raw meat? What do you guys think is better ground or sliced meat?
Not for raw meat?? What the heck did you buy? Let me walk you through this:

Per pound of raw meat, cut with the grain, marinate in...

1/2 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp meat tenderizer
1 tablespoon brown sugar

soak it overnight or longer. lay out the strips on drying rack, dry at 150 or so until firm, not brittle.