Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

after a kill?

Old 04-16-2005, 10:05 PM
Fork Horn

Default after a kill?

I was wondring if you shoot a deer is that spot ruined and for how long is it going to be spoilled i am kinda new to bow hunting and the after shot my first deer with a bow i never saw deer at that place agian so i was just wondring. thanks for all the help everyone has given me in the past and you all deffinatly halped me bag my first deer. Thanks again.
Marshall
Old 04-17-2005, 07:24 AM

Default RE: after a kill?

sometimes the blood actually attracts deer IMO - why I dont know. Sometimes it spooks them - why I don't know.
Old 04-17-2005, 07:45 AM

Its impossible to say because it is never set in stone. A few years ago I shot a doe in my woods and didn't see a deer in those woods for a couple weeks, on the other hand, I have shot deer and had deer come in just minutes later and act like nothing was wrong!

If your spot looks good, I would keep hunting it, atleast for a few days!
Old 04-17-2005, 12:19 PM

I think it all depends on what you do whie recovering your kill. We used to send out 10 man tracking parties. As you can imagine there is no way to keep that many people from stomping all over the place and spreading scent, whoopin and hollerin. I have seen areas that held alot of deer go cold for some time after one of these events. On the other hand I have field dressed animals in sight of my treestand and not have it affect the area at all. This due to the fact that only a couple of guys went in and recovered the animal and got out. We didn't walk around and celebrate there. We got the deer and got out.
Old 04-17-2005, 05:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

I have had deer that I shot fall within my view and had another deer walk up to the dead one, walk around it and sniff it, then just walk off! The human scent thing is a bit different.