HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Finding Draw Lenght? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/88044-finding-draw-lenght.html)

cherokee_outfitters 01-26-2005 12:36 PM

Finding Draw Lenght?

To all the people who have had a somewhat professional education on bows may find this question a little simple. I'm a self taught bowhunter and just recently it was brought to my attention that I was shooting a bow that's draw length was way to long. Okay so I learned how to shoot that particular bow wrong or right I could shoot it.

My question is how to find your correct draw length? Drawing a measured out arrow on the bow won't help me because my anchor point has been developed to draw a longer draw length. I would need a system to find out without drawing the bow.

I have tried the yard stick in the center of the chest. I'm currently drawing at 30" length but with this method its saying 26" I'm thinking that's not possible. I could see 29" or 28" but the other is too short. I've tried that on my bow and its not comfortable at all.

Thanks for the advice.

BobCo19-65 01-26-2005 12:51 PM

RE: Finding Draw Lenght?

This may help.

http://www.bowhunting.com/BowhuntingBasics.asp?page=3

FWIW, you will probably have to change your anchor point anyway, as this was probably part of your problem.

ELKINMTCWB 01-26-2005 12:57 PM

It is all about what works for you. I make an L on my cheek bone. the kisser butten is right in the corner of my mouth.

Flintflinger 01-26-2005 01:38 PM

I just measured my wing span and it is 75". I shoot a draw length of 30" with a release and a string loop. My question is should I shorten my length to 29 1/2"? I am pretty comfortable where I am at. I am getting tight groups at 20 and 30 yards. But I am getting a new bow in the next couple of weeks and I want to do it right and try to improve my grouping.