HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Tried the crimson raptor (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/87858-tried-crimson-raptor.html)

savedbygrace 01-25-2005 08:14 AM

Tried the crimson raptor

I am new to bowhunting and I have heard alot of good comments and advice on this forum. When I started reading on this forum I noticed where alot of you guys shot muzzies. I too have been shooting muzzies (100gr 3 blade, on my tomkat set @ 70#'s with 27" DL using goldtip xt's 5575 & a biscuit rest). I've only harvested one deer so far, it was a mature doe. I shot her @ 15yrds and she only ran approx. 20 yrds after being shot. Now in this situation I know you dont need a good blood trail but she didnt start losing blood until after 15yrds. It was a double lung and posterior heart shot. Again when they dont run that far I know you dont need a good blood trail but what about when they do run further and dont start bleeding until after several yards after they have run off. I have been very pleased with the muzzies, they are one heck of a broadhead but I thought about tring different kinds of broadheads to see how they performed. I read alot of mostly negative comments about the crimson talons but I thought I would give them a chance anyway. I bought some raptors the other day and O MAN, they fly so AWESOME with my setup. Now the only draw back is that I havent taken a deer with one yet but I am very eager to see how it does. That will be my deciding factor. I guess I have been ranting and raving to ask this: have any of you guys actually shot any of the crimson talon products and if so how do you like them. Any other comments, good or bad, would be appreciated. Remember I'm a newbee and still learning.

BobCo19-65 01-25-2005 10:39 AM

RE: Tried the crimson raptor