Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bow hunting or Rifle? >

Bow hunting or Rifle?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bow hunting or Rifle?

Old 12-28-2004, 06:30 AM

Default Bow hunting or Rifle?

Well this year (2005) wil be my first time ever to hunt. I have no past experience nothing at all. I was thinking if i should bow hunt or rifle? (Remember no experience yet and for bow hunting u need to be an average of 30 yards away.)
Old 12-28-2004, 07:09 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Bow hunting or Rifle?

This is an individual issure. With a rifle your odds of bringing home meat are greatly increased if you are talking limited hours in the woods. With archery you are afforded a longer season and must be much more diligent as to how you approach the hunt. When just starting, I would recommend rifle hunting as it will increase your odds of success and lesson the chance of frustration due to lack of "success." You have plenty of time to ADVANCE to archery as you grow into the hunting like style. And by the way, I believe studies have shown that the average bow shot deer is something less than 20 yards. You really need to be up close and personal to assure a good clean shot. Good luck and keep us posted on your success.
Old 12-28-2004, 07:11 AM
Giant Nontypical

I really don't think it matters which direction you go. I guess it mostly depends on your personality, how much time and effort you're willing to devote to developing your hunting skills and what you want to accomplish.
Old 12-28-2004, 07:12 AM

Well let's see, you are in the bowhunting forum, so, umm, I would say....