Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Allegany County New York >

Allegany County New York

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Allegany County New York

Old 12-23-2004, 07:24 AM

Default Allegany County New York

I am brand new to this message board. I have read many of the posts and can tell that the contributors to this board are very dedicated, knowledgeable and hardcore.
I have a question that I'm hoping some of you New York hunters can help me out with. I am currently considering buying a parcel of land in Alleganey County. It is about 100+/- acres that are 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open meadow. The property looks very appealing but I have no experience hunting in that region of New york state. Are there many (any?) mature bucks in this county? Is the county overhunted? I know from the stats that this county produces a high number of deer but also there is quite a large "army" of hunters who pound the woods there shooting many, many 1-1/2 year old bucks. Does anybody know of any QDM efforts being looked at for this region of NY (similar to what PA is doing)? Any replies would be helpful........Thanks
Old 12-23-2004, 07:35 AM

Default RE: Allegany County New York

ORIGINAL: Mid-Vermont

I have a question that I'm hoping some of you New York hunters can help me out with. I am currently considering buying a parcel of land in Alleganey County. It is about 100+/- acres that are 2/3 wooded and 1/3 open meadow. The property looks very appealing but I have no experience hunting in that region of New york state.
I have hunted Allegany county for 17 years and my family has been there over 40.

Are there many (any?) mature bucks in this county?
No.

Is the county overhunted?
YES.