HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   anyone start out traditional? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/81907-anyone-start-out-traditional.html)

dkeener 12-08-2004 01:01 PM

anyone start out traditional?

Just curious how many bow hunters in here started out hunting traditional and then switched to compound. If so, does it feel almost like you are gun hunting at times? I just started shooting compound this season. Please don't turn this thread into an elitism thing as there is already a thread going on about that that you can respond to.

Rob/PA Bowyer 12-08-2004 01:19 PM

RE: anyone start out traditional?

Yes, I started out traditional but that was back when I was a young teenager. I was interested in hunting with a bow and all I could find was an old fiberglass recurve that my cousin had. I remember countless hours and lost arrows small game hunting. It was probably a God send that no deer walked anywhere near me to tempt a young foolish "bowhunter". When I was 15 I received a shiny, black metal flaked Bear Black Bear II for my Nov birthday, well some arrows later I was out with it still shooting instinctive with a compound. I learned, I experienced and became wiser in the ways of bow shooting as well as bowhunting but I didn't kill/recover a deer with that bow til my early 20's and it was a small doe. Before the next year I received a new compound, a Jennings Carbon Extreme for my birthday, setup with sights, etc...and a release. After a full season of 3D shoots I took my first bow buck that fall and never looked back. Now after 20 years of bowhunting and countless whitetails as well as other species of bow kills, I've never looked back. I also accept the fact that I will never be good enough to hunt with a recurve or longbow and will not go back to instinctive shooting with a compound. Do I feel like I'm gun hunting, Hell no....