HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   What do you use as a backstop ,practicing (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/73833-what-do-you-use-backstop-practicing.html)

vikingvictory 09-25-2004 11:35 AM

What do you use as a backstop ,practicing

I 've tried to find 80 to 100 lb hay bails.It seems all the farmers in my area roll the huge bales now.
Will a thick layer of cardboard work?The soil is so rocky where I shoot that if I miss it ruins my field points.Thanks for any help.

D33rHunter2424 09-25-2004 11:43 AM

RE: What do you use as a backstop ,practicing

Go to a local sporting good shop and buy a bow and arrow target.

vikingvictory 09-25-2004 01:19 PM

I have the target.I made a stand out of PCV pipe and hung the "Tough Bag" from that.The target is about 2' in width and 2' in height.
I just started practicing from a longer distance now and don't hit the target every single time.

Stryker777 09-25-2004 01:27 PM

I have horses so I have lots of round bales. I just took one of the older 6ft round bales and turned it side ways to use as a backstop. Works great. I also have paper targets on a few bales. The arrow only goes in about half way if shooting at the side. If you shoot at the center you could loose the arrow in there lol.
stryker777

Canuck_2 09-25-2004 03:52 PM

I sponsor an archery club at high school here and get a lot of students who haven't had much or any experience; so a backstop for arrows missing the target is essential. I have set up an old hot tub lid, which catches a lot of errant shots. The bows the kids are using are mostly fairly gentle, so the lid open at full width stops the arrows. Speedier arrows go through but there is a good catchment area behind and they are always found lying on the grass. But if the lid is used at 'folded in half' position, even the fast arrows stop. Works good and the price was right.