Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 whats your best advice for a beginner >

whats your best advice for a beginner

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

whats your best advice for a beginner

Old 09-02-2004, 11:12 AM

Default whats your best advice for a beginner

Ok guys I am new to bow hunting and shooting a bow and I was just wondering what everyones best advice for someone just starting out like me would be. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I know a pretty good amount for a beginner. But there may be some stuff I dont know or somthing I should focus on more. thanks guys.
Old 09-02-2004, 11:19 AM

Default RE: whats your best advice for a beginner

You just opened a can of worms. lol

If I had to pick one main piece of advice that I wish someone had told me before I started it would be......hmmmmmm
When you buy or add something to your set up make sure your buying what you want and it's the best you can get. It will save you from buying a ton of the same item just trying to decide if it's good enough. You can waste a lot of money that way. For example if you buying a new sight. Check them all out in person not in a magazine. Look through them and then decide. Don't just buy one cause it looks good. You'll just end up wanting something better.
That and practice religiously.
Old 09-02-2004, 11:22 AM

I've learned a ton just from reading everything I see here every day, and talking to people at the local pro shops. I've hung around during league shoots to see others form, euipment, and ask questions. I'm not in a position to offer tips since this is my first season also, but good luck.
Old 09-02-2004, 11:23 AM
Nontypical Buck

Practice Practice and practice also realize that you are a beginner and it's not going to come to you overnight. Oh yeah did I mention PRACTICE.
Old 09-02-2004, 11:32 AM