Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Broadheads hitting to the right >

Broadheads hitting to the right

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadheads hitting to the right

Old 08-29-2004, 07:40 PM

Default Broadheads hitting to the right

I have paper tuned my bow with field points and have it ripping bullet holes. I started practicing with my muzzys and Im hitting about 5 inches to the right. My question is there a tuning problem I have overlooked, or should I adjust my sight and move on.
Thanks Sharkey
Old 08-29-2004, 10:04 PM

Default RE: Broadheads hitting to the right

Your looking at it all wrong, your field tips are hitting to the left.
Old 08-29-2004, 11:22 PM

It is possible that your shaft spine was borderline and now the broadheads have handed you a weak spine issue.

I am assuming that your arrows are leaving your rest "tail left" and the tip to the right, causing your arrows to impact to the right.

If correct:

1. Decrease draw-weight.... OR
2. Decrease broadhead weight (could have additional problems if not enough weight up front)....OR
3. If using 4" or less fletch/vane, increase to 5" for better stabilizing. Also, larger fletch/vane will tend to stiffen spine.

Good Luck!
Old 08-30-2004, 03:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

read this it may help.
http://www.broadheadtests.com/TUNING.html
Old 08-30-2004, 07:17 AM

Thanks for the replies. I am shooting 5575 gold tips and my bow is set at 65 pounds, I think the spine should be ok, according to gold tips site they are fine. My field points and broadheads are both 100 grain. They are fletched with 4 inch vane 6 degree helical.
I have a couple more weeks to get everything right. Wish me luck.
Sharkey
Old 08-30-2004, 07:22 AM
Nontypical Buck