Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How far is to far to let an arrow fly? >

How far is to far to let an arrow fly?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How far is to far to let an arrow fly?

Old 04-29-2004, 09:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How far is to far to let an arrow fly?

First I want to say hi to everyone out there. I am new to this web site and I love it. My wife and I are Archery Education Instructiors for the Idaho Fish and Game. We have taught for 3 years now. One subject that comes up in every class is how far is to far to shoot at game. Being in Idaho most people start bowhunting to hunt elk. But some hunt all the game available with their bow. In our class we have hunters from age 11 to age 88... whether they are new or experienced hunters. Every one offers different opinions for how far you should shoot. Some say no more than 20 yards and others say that 80 is acceptable. There is a standard that we have to teach (40 yards) and my own limit is 40 yards. The furthest I have ever had to shoot was 35 yards. I do practice out to 50 so that my skills remain sharp. However, for this topic I want to hear opinions based on experiences with your hunts with big game.
Old 04-29-2004, 10:06 PM

Default RE: How far is to far to let an arrow fly?

It varys from person to person. My limit on deer size game is about 40-50 yards. The reason for this is not accuracy but lose of speed. I'm afraid that I have lost to much momentum to get a pass through everytime. I paractice out to 80 yards. When I hit the 11 ring at 80 yards I know I have done something. Most of my practice is 3D style shooting.
Old 04-29-2004, 10:09 PM
Giant Nontypical

Boy that's the age old question, and it's going to vary widely depending upon individual skill, size of the game hunted....and unfortunately some bad judgement and poor decisions thrown in.