Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Good Yardage question >

Good Yardage question

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Good Yardage question

Old 02-05-2002, 09:53 AM

Default Good Yardage question

Excuse me again, but I am new to bowhunting so I will ask some obvious questions.

With a rifle, I'm comfortable at 300yds and in. With a bow - obviously much different.

What do you all recommend for yardage that will produce a clean shot as well as humane kill?

Thanks for your patience with me.

I will be hunting elk and mule deer - and then when I draw - black bear.

Edited by - ElkhuntingFool on 02/05/2002 11:23:11

Edited by - ElkhuntingFool on 02/05/2002 11:25:32
Old 02-05-2002, 10:01 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Good Yardage question

Many folks limit themselves to 30 yards with a compound. Traditionalists generally prefer to be within 20. But that doesn't mean a thing, really. The key is how well YOU shoot.

A lot of people say your maximum effective range is where you can keep all your shots on a paper plate. I disagree with that. Shooting at an animal is a lot different than shooting at a paper plate. You don't have your heart thumping in your throat and all that kind of thing going on like you do when that buck steps out.

I think you should limit your shots to where you can keep them all in a group no bigger than a saucer. That gives you a little margin of error for dealing with the heat of the moment.
Old 02-05-2002, 10:20 AM
Giant Nontypical

Sorry Arthur, but I have to disagree that it all has to do with how well you shoot.

I can keep everything in a group at 50 yards no problem, but will I shoot at a deer more than 25 yards??? No.