Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
New to bow hunting >

New to bow hunting

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New to bow hunting

Old 09-04-2017, 05:34 AM
Spike

Default New to bow hunting

Hey guys, I'm new to bow hunting and I have a few questions. Hopefully I can get some useful information.

I was wondering if deer will actually eat walnuts that are falling from a tree in pieces. I'm assuming the squirrels are busting them up and the extra meat of the walnut is falling to the ground. When I was scouting I noticed a bunch of busted up walnuts all over the ground. Is this an area I should consider placing my tree stand? Also a few white acorn trees in this area, but nothing falling yet. Also, I washed my hunting clothes in activated carbon. What are your thoughts on my questions? Thanks guys (26 days until PA bow season!!!)
Old 09-04-2017, 09:08 AM
Dominant Buck

Not positive but I think too much work for these guys. It's amazing to me how they would walk away from a pile of corn.

If your new to hunting in general, I always liked to go by tracks and rubs. I like areas where I see fresh tracks and places maybe not fresh rubs but rubs in general. To learn how to tell the age of tracks, your local parks where no hunting is allowed and is a country club for deer is a great place to learn. Btw, learn a lot about hunting in general. Just take your shots with a camera. Sitting in a stand like you're hunting works well.
Old 09-04-2017, 11:05 AM
Fork Horn