Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

No does?

Old 10-25-2003, 04:46 PM

Default No does?

I have been hunting this fairly small suburban pocket for a few years now and have pretty much had it to myself. Well, word got out...and now there are three regulars hunting the same area pretty hard. Not to mention the other two or three who show up now and then.

I have pretty consistantly taken deer here in the past and have almost always seen deer when I hunted it. The problem is, I can' t seem to locate the does this season. All of the sign I am seeing is pre-rut buck sign? I usually see does, or at least jump them on the way in or out. Not now?

What do you think? It seems fairly obvious to me. We must have pushed them too hard too fast. I saw one buck opening day and missed him.[&:]

The area is surrounded by pretty thick swamp where they have always bedded in the past. Should I venture into their bedroom to try to get a better look, or just wait ' um out? We should see early rut in a couple of weeks.
I guess I' m just getting a little frustrated. Not having my private " honey-hole" anymore and not even seeing deer.

Thanks, and good luck to all.

Rut' s around the corner
Jack
Old 10-25-2003, 06:50 PM

Default RE: No does?

It' s interesting that you say this. I have also noticed that there are no does. Actually, I have seen perhaps three mature does since the first two days. There are several buttonbucks and one half-grown doe. I have seen numerous bucks. But then I remember last year: the does grouped into herds. If you didn' t see the herd then you didn' t see any does. Also, I have heard that there is a poacher in the area so it makes me wonder.....
Old 10-25-2003, 06:59 PM
Dominant Buck