Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Acorn hunting in big timber; predicting movement >

Acorn hunting in big timber; predicting movement

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Acorn hunting in big timber; predicting movement

Old 10-18-2015, 08:52 PM
Spike

Default Acorn hunting in big timber; predicting movement

My question relates heavily to the thread here http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowh...ustrating.html

What a fantastic discussion. Doing a search on "bedding" produced that thread and I could not stop reading. Just awesome information on mast producing trees, their acorns, and deer preferences. The thread ties in perfectly with my question.

I'm brand new to hunting. The property is all very remote Adirondack New York public land, with no agriculture to speak of. The food source seems to be entirely browse and acorns, specifically beech nuts (no oaks in the area). There is no solidly identifiable bedding source, just large (thousands of square feet) areas of low, thick pines and other tangled trees (previously logged).

I can only conclude - as did many of the contributors to the previously mentioned thread - that the deer in big timber areas like the one I'm hunting are very transient, with large habitats, very unpredictable movement cycles, and (as Rockport pointed out in page 2, post #12, of mentioned thread) the cover and food seem to be very close.

I can't figure out how to correctly approach an ambush location.

I don't know precisely where they are bedding, or when. I have a general idea and I suppose that's enough. In the woods at 5am my climber tree stand is louder than a Texas whorehouse at 1am, no matter how much I try to be quiet.