HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Thinking about getting a new bow help me pick (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/400531-thinking-about-getting-new-bow-help-me-pick.html)

DIY_guy 07-31-2015 09:50 AM

Thinking about getting a new bow help me pick

Im looking to get a new (to me) compound bow. I normally hunt with a trad longbow but also own and hunt with a compound. Ive been bowhunting for almost 40 years but I have only bought 2 hunting compounds in the last 30 years. I’ve had the same bowtech since 2006 and before that the same PSE for 21 years. Im looking to buy a 2013 or 2014 model and since those model year bows have been out for a while and folks have hunted with them and put them through their paces, this community should be able to speak with first hand knowledge of how they performed (or are still performing).

When it comes to Trad gear, I like homemade and simple. For a hunting compound Im looking for performance (which I determine as speed and efficiency with a roughly 400 to 500 grain total projectile weight as I like heavy broadheads) but I also care about noise and hand shock upon release. The Classifieds here and elsewhere as well as the big online auction site are full of 1 and 2 year old bows so it wont be hard to find what I eventually settle upon.

Please, Make your recommendations.

super_hunt54 07-31-2015 10:51 AM