Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Please Help with My Son >

Please Help with My Son

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Please Help with My Son

Old 10-01-2013, 12:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Doughboy2
I bought my 11 year old son a bow for Christmas last year. He is not strong enough to hunt with the minimum 40lbs draw yet. He shoots with me everytime I shoot. I shoot at least 3X/week....I feel I am ready when I can hit the cap off of a plastic coke bottle at 30 yards....I have been hunting for 20+ years, and the joy of just shooting my bow has not wavered....I love it. My son loves to shoot his bow as well....I make it fun for him...we shoot at different areas of the target to see who can get the closest. Without him knowing, he is developing skills that will allow him to become a better hunter as he gets older/stronger. I agree with those who say do not put a time to his shooting. You will know when he is ready.....and if he is not, have him sit with you and teach him the woods.
well by your standards not many are ready...that's a feat in itself..but hey if you are that good...good for you.
Old 10-04-2013, 12:38 PM
DTC
Nontypical Buck

My son is 10 and he took his first deer with a bow the first day of season this year. He has been shooting for 3 years now. I won't let him shoot over 18 yards. I don't expect him to shoot for hours on end but we go down and take 12-15 shots almost every night. I feel like if he shoots for a long period of time he gets fatigued and loses his form which hurts his accuracy. As bow hunters we must remember that you get one shot generally so when we walk up to the target I remind him his first shot is the one that counts.
Old 10-04-2013, 01:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by DTC