HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   first time bow advice (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/384680-first-time-bow-advice.html)

wicat3 09-02-2013 01:42 PM

first time bow advice

Hey guys. Ive been into hunting for a bit and would like to try hunting with a bow. Ive been hunting for a few years now and its always been with a gun or black powder. Id like to give bow hunting a try. my problem is I have no idea about bows! I started hunting and getting into long guns by buying a shotgun for "hunting" with intentions of using it for home defense and just never stopped buying more and more toys lol. So I started hunting and now I would love to get a bow. I don't know what I need or if ill even like it! I don't want to drop a huge amount of money so any help would be great.

Hoyt63 09-02-2013 03:36 PM

Best advice...Go to your local archery shop and shoot as many different bows as you can until you find 1 that feels good in your hands while shooting. There is a ton of great bow manufacturers out there. Brand should be the least important factor.Feel and fit should be top priority. Good luck.

pjhunts 09-03-2013 05:08 AM

Yep. No better advice to give than that. Shoot as many different ones u can. Look for something that feels smooth and shoots quiet. Anything out there these days shoots plenty fast enough

wicat3 09-03-2013 01:51 PM

Ok and what if ive never shot a bow or know where the closes place is? I have a dicks sporting goods but they don't let you shoot them. And I heard there is some calculations that are needed for the right bow. Such as a smaller guy would have a different pull then a taller person, weight and all that?

DJfan 09-03-2013 02:00 PM

I would highly recommend you go to a local shop.

Hoyt63 09-03-2013 02:43 PM