Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What do I need?

Old 12-27-2012, 02:25 PM
Spike

Default What do I need?

So I'm new to bowhunting, actually new to hunting in general. Going to take the basic hunter education course soon. My question is what will I need for a day of hunting? I have my bow and arrows however I will need broad heads. What else? Clothing? Backpack? Knives, etc? Discuss. Thanks in advance
Old 12-27-2012, 02:48 PM
Fork Horn

First thing I'd like to ask is have you practiced with fieldpoints? I'm not trying to be a smart butt just curious. If you havent, that's where you need to start as long as your draw length and draw weight is correct. Did you buy your bow at a pro shop and did they get your measurements?
Old 12-27-2012, 03:13 PM
Spike

Yes I have, I was actually able to set something up at work to be able to shoot. It's about 18 yards long. I did go to a pro shop and was measured. We shot the bow and had it set up for me before I left.
Old 12-27-2012, 03:19 PM
Fork Horn

your gonna need a decent set of camo, scent control, rubber boots, you surely have a release, and you have the left over cash, a tree stand, knife(i prefer gut hooks).
walmart is good place to start if you are poor, you get what you pay for.
bass pro or cabelas would hook you up with some nicer things for a heftier price.
Old 12-27-2012, 03:28 PM
Fork Horn

I'd also get a range finder or some orange marking tape to mark off yardages in your shooting lanes. Also a little hand saw to trim limbs. I do carry a pack with alot of stuff in it like paracord, knife, headlamp,grunt tube(optional), rattle bag(optional), orange tape or tacks, and alot of other stuff. If I think of anything thats a must, Ill post it.
Old 12-27-2012, 04:01 PM
Typical Buck

a fanny pack is a big thing for me. never go hunting with out it.