Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadheads

Old 10-14-2012, 04:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Broadheads

I've been using Shuttle -T's for a few years now, and I like their accuracy a lot. However, they don't seem to do a lot of damage.

I realize it's the indian and not the bow, but I want to put the odds in my favor as much as possible. I hate losing deer and I've had a couple get a way from me. I think in these situations it could have turned out different if the broadhead caused a much deeper wound.

Any suggestions on a broadhead that is known for successfully putting a nice gaping hole on the deer without sacrificing accuracy and needing significant tuning?

Thanks
Old 10-14-2012, 04:21 AM
Typical Buck

anything thats shaped like a field point. First that comes to mind is rage 2 blade. I only suggest this if your shooting about 60 lbs or up. Please don't think with a big cutting diameter you don't have to practice as much or you will drop a deer with in 30 yards with a gut shot. It doesn't really work that way. Shot placement is huge with bowhunting.
Old 10-14-2012, 12:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Thanks. I realize shot placement is highly significant in bow-hunting. I do practice.

I want a broadhead that provides gaping holes and fast blood loss. I dont get that out of Shuttle T's.
Old 10-14-2012, 02:25 PM
Typical Buck

I have shot the muzzy 3-blade 100gr for years and havent had a problem finding the deer that i hit right. Shot a doe a couple of weeks ago. Double lung, easy blood trail but didnt need it since she only made it 20 yards. Made a bad shot on a buck last week, 25 yards, arrow went through the shoulder and out the front of the brisket, never hit the vitals, followed blood for about a mile, lost the blood and the deer, broadhead did what it was suppose to but i didnt.
Old 10-14-2012, 02:48 PM
Fork Horn

Grim reapers. Try them!!!