HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   archery pack (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/368879-archery-pack.html)

junkmonkey17 08-19-2012 11:49 AM

archery pack

I am a little new to archery hunting and i am geting ready for the upcoming whitetail deer season. I have a archery pack but i was wondering what i will need to put in the bag for hunting.

huntingkidPA 08-20-2012 04:31 AM

like a fanny pack? ill usually have...

-grunt tube
-bleat call
-powder to tell where the wind is going
-range finder
-drag rope
-knife

the only thing you really need that i mentioned was the knife.

scottycoyote 08-20-2012 10:07 AM

plus a compass/gps, small first aid kit with a bleeding stopper, snakebite kit if its applicable to your area, flashlight, tp, etc.

im a bit of a gear freak and what ive found to work best for me is take a basic good backpack and put all the stuff id need in it for a day/overnight in the woods and keep it loaded like that. Then i bought several smaller military style pouches (i think they are your basic medic kit pouch), and label them. I have a "deer" pouch, a "turkey" pouch, "small game" pouch, etc. Then you just grab the pouch for what you are hunting for and put it in your backpack and youre good to go.

V8Ranger 08-21-2012 12:53 AM

Toilet paper.. For two reasons, For what its made for, lol... And I use it to mark the blood trail if i don't hear or see the deer drop... I take a 1/4 role and flatten it out and put it in my pack.. I also have a smaller roll in there as a back up, just in case I use up the other one I still have one to wipe with..... You never know when the urge will come up.. lol..

MISwampDog 08-25-2012 05:39 AM

Well lets see.......

knife
binoculars
bow hanger
zip ties
tags
book (if you get bored in the stand)
grunt call
estrus call
range finder
extra set of gloves