Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Missouri hunt

Old 08-15-2012, 05:03 PM
Fork Horn

Default Missouri hunt

ok first are non resident archery tags still sold over the counter?

and now Im just lookin for thoughts here Im planning a bowhunt in NE Missouri for next season with my dad and a close friend. When i started lookin at the public land my head started to spin there is alot of land to hunt. Any thoughts on some of the better areas to help pin point where we will start scouting? I really like the ideas of the archery and muzzleloader only areas. Im am goin to make a trip down after winter to help get an idea of where we'll be hunting i just need some help on where to start.

Thanks Matt
Old 08-16-2012, 05:55 AM
Typical Buck

I've been hunting in Missouri, as a resident, for around 4 or 5 years. As far as I know ALL tags are available over the counter.
You're right, we have lots of public lands to hunt. And bow hunters get several shelters from a lot of the gun hunting nut jobs.
I'm unfamiliar with the NE area, but I've been told it can be a monster breeding ground! I've heard good things from a friend of mine about the public land around Mark Twain, but that may be much further south than you want to go.
Old 08-16-2012, 07:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Adair County has some good areas, but you're talking about some rough terrain on the State ground there. There are several areas around Hannibal that would provide options. Some of them are small and tend to get overlooked.
Old 08-16-2012, 03:28 PM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by bscofield
I've been hunting in Missouri, as a resident, for around 4 or 5 years. As far as I know ALL tags are available over the counter.
You're right, we have lots of public lands to hunt. And bow hunters get several shelters from a lot of the gun hunting nut jobs.